Can I do that?

Sam speaking at WNL.

Melissa* stopped by our table on campus. She had been on her way to class and was attracted by the surrounding group. Melissa hadn’t grown up in church, but she had recently been sensing a desire to explore spirituality. After a friendly chat with some staff and students, she thought she would give Chi Alpha a try.

Melissa’s first event was our weekly worship service, Wednesday Night Live. I spoke on life in the Spirit out of Galatians chapter 5 that night. As I described how we’re formed by what we’re rooted in, Melissa sensed her need to change. I invited the students to respond to the message, and she was the first to step forward. She introduced herself with, “My parents are religious, but I’ve never had a relationship with Jesus.” I asked her if she wanted that, and she replied, “Can I do that?” My answer was an enthusiastic “Yes!” I had the privilege of leading Melissa to open herself up to Jesus.

Leave a comment